Time and God

English: Clock Face on St Michael's Church 'Ti...

Earlier in the week I ran into a blog post where someone was trying to be rational about the problem of deciding if there is a god or not.  If you know anything about faith, you can see they’re going to run into problems already.

The thing they brought up was eternity past.

Here’s the deal.  If God was already there, had always been (which He was), then you have a God/King with no kingdom to rule for an eternity backwards.

The author promptly dismissed that notion and moved on to atheistic wanderings.

I remember being about seven years old and trying to picture that reality of eternity past.  It isn’t comfortable or easy stuff, that’s for sure.

Here’s what was missing:  God doesn’t live in time the way we do.  Have a look at these verses:

But don’t forget this one thing, dear friends: To the Lord a day is like a thousand years, and a thousand years is like a day.  II Peter 3:8 Easy-to-read Version

Jesus answered, “The fact is, before Abraham was born, I Am.”  John 8:58  EtrV

Then God said to Moses, “Tell them, ‘I Am Who I Am.’ When you go to the Israelites, tell them, ‘I Am’ sent me to you.”  Exodus 3:14  EtrV

What do these verses tell us?  God is always present.  For Him there is no past or future, it is all NOW.  Just as He is everywhere at once, He is everywhen at once.  Not that this is much easier to picture.

For more, check out Bodie Hodge’s guest post: Who Created God?

Here’s the way I try to imagine it in order to get a little sense of what being outside of time would feel like:

New old skeleton watchworks, seen through its ...

Have you ever re-watched or re-read a story you really like: and exciting one where the characters figured they wouldn’t make it, but they do?  Did you watch it to see if things turned out differently this time?  To try to solve the mystery that was plaguing them?

Of course not, because you already knew how it ended.  Even during the time in between watching or reading, you could remind yourself of favorite moments in the story and savor the excitement.

So, why do you re-watch the same story over and over?  I asked my kids that and their answer was so good I thought, “that is exactly why I believe God has put Himself through the trouble of setting the world up the way He did.”

Before I tell their answers, I’d love to hear what you think.  Why do you re-read the same story over again?  Do you think God might feel the same way?

6 thoughts on “Time and God

  1. Don Ruhl

    For some reason, the suspense is exciting; the idea of being close to edge and dying, but you know the author has figured out a solution of which you are ignorant.

    Reply
    1. Cheri-CreationScience4Kids Post author

      You’re saying the suspense is still exciting even when you know what happens?
      I can see that being the case. Being a comfort-lover, it is *more* fun for me to reread a dangerous book when I know the hero/ine makes it than the first time (I’ve been known to check last pages for survivors) :-D. Can’t say it occurred to me to look at God the same way. 😀

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Who created God? | Creation Science 4 Kids

  3. Pingback: Monday Articles « Already Answered

    1. Cheri-CreationScience4Kids Post author

      Thanks for responding. That’s pretty much what my kids told me, too. It is the reason I read the same book numbers of times. The characters are my friends and it is a pleasure knowing that they will get through everything and be the better for it.

      Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts

