Is Your Family Watching the Cosmos Series?

My family doesn’t have time to watch anything on Sundays, so we aren’t keeping up with this program, but that doesn’t mean you all aren’t!

In fact, if you have kids 12+, I recommend watching shows like this. Eventually, one way or another, your kids are going to hear the kinds of ideas presented in the series. The last thing you want to do is leave them ignorant until they’re out on their own, never having thought through the worldview, logic, and assumptions presented as facts by the world.

If you sit down with your kids and examine things like this carefully, they will develop the spiritual muscles they need to discern the difference between fact and fiction. But, this doesn’t mean you have to get a degree in science to help your kids. Others have already, and they love to share with us!

Since I can’t tell you what I think, I’ve looked around for those who have already put up reviews. There aren’t too many yet, but here’s what I’ve found:

Answers in Genesis has a lengthy article just on Episode 1

Creation Evolution Headlines has one that’s not so long. As usual, the editor’s thoughts are in green toward the end.

Then the other day I listened to a podcast on Challenging Cosmos (it doesn’t matter if your kids are in a school system instead). Starting just after the 12 minute mark, the host talks with Jay Ryan of Classical Astronomy, about the first episode of Cosmos. Ryan likes to ramble, so the show is almost an hour long, but you’ll learn a lot if you have the time! You’ll also see not all creationists walk in lock step. In fact, I don’t know too many who do. It’s a science community after all. 😀

Behold, I send you forth as sheep in the midst of wolves: be ye therefore wise as serpents, and harmless as doves. Matthew 10:16 

8 thoughts on “Is Your Family Watching the Cosmos Series?

  1. Hunt FOR Truth

    I think the show 3/9 “Cosmos a spacetime odyssey: Standing Up In the Milky Way” was a romanticized special effects show with science fiction space travel that would make it awkward for parents to watch for the purpose of children learning science. How would they sort speculation from fact? Its a show that demonstrates vastness of the universe, its age, very basics about the general structure of a solar system and a galaxy and the universe.
    The program promotes inquiry and open-mindedness.
    Why the show brings up Giordano Bruno is a mystery to me. He is even show (animation) being burned at the stake. Of course it is a wrongfully horrible and tragic event but it is not science.
    The show compresses nearly 13.8 billion years into a single 365 days and rather than say 13.8 billion he states the time in thousands of millions of years; 13.8 thousand million years old. That seems strange and confusing probably for viewers. I taught adults math – they would be confused by hat usually.
    Tyson says the show “‘Cosmos’ can influence you not only intellectually but emotionally.”
    The show statement, “The cosmos is all that is, or ever was, or ever will be.” is not an empirically correct scientific statement.
    I think most people ought to skip it or tape it if there is anything better to do on Sunday evening. It may appeal to some kids that want to know some basics about how the universe works… they probably wouldn’t be looking at it critically as I am as parent.
    I am not pushing it on my 13 yo to see it.
    We can cover this material better with youtubes and a few articles.
    ~ Eric

    Its

    Reply
    1. Cheri Fields Post author

      Well, sure, we don’t have to watch every show, and I’d probably preview everything before watching with my young teens. But by 15-16 or so, I hope to have prepared my kids enough that they can do the critiquing themselves while we watch it together.
      My theme for parents is not to hide our kids away from the world’s ideas, but to introduce them in a thoughtful way. If you haven’t prepared them beforehand, a show like Cosmos is *not* a good place to start!
      Thanks for the insights. 🙂

      Reply
      1. Hunt FOR Truth

        That makes good sense… my son has a better foundation than what is in the show and no interest… so, I deleted my recording. A recording is set; so, if he wants to see the next one he can. I’m watching it either way… at least once.

  2. John

    Hi Cheri,

    Thanks for sharing my podcast with your readers. We’re going to try and compress our discussion next week. Both Jay Ryan and I thought it went a little long too. I hope you’ll continue to listen.

    Thanks,

    John

    Reply
    1. Cheri Fields Post author

      You’re welcome!
      I figured as much. My husband is a pastor, and when he hasn’t preached in a while it’s super hard for him to keep things short. It’s a lot easier when you know there’s always next week!

      Reply

I'd love to hear your thoughts

