Scientists Prayer & a Dinosaur Book Review

My dad is a huge encouragement to me. He’s the one got me interested in science in the first place and can be depended on for encouragement and wisdom when the skeptics give me a hard time. He also likes to watch for new resources for me. The other day, he brought home The Great Dinosaur Mystery and the Bible for the kids and me.

Finally, a book to review on creation that’s meant for kids! Well, technically the Chronicles of Dinosauria was supposed to be for kids, but I couldn’t get even my older kids interested in anything but the drawings (my dino guy is only 6).

This time, the wording was much closer to a 5th grade level, doubtless because the author, Paul Taylor, actually taught young people. He knows how to break things down into smaller sentences.

Of course, if you’ve seen the illustrations by Richard Dobb in the Chronicles, you’re spoiled for any other illustrator. The paintings here are lovely, but remind me of the style popular in the 60s. They make the book seem way older than from 1998 (most recent update) which is a shame.

Maybe Dobb and Taylor can get together to do an updated version! 😀

Dinosaur footprints

Dinosaur footprints (Photo credit: MuseumWales)

All I’ll say about the overall book content is how pleased I am by the logical thoroughness of Taylor’s layout. You could use this as a curriculum to explain what a fossil is and how they form. A lot of space is devoted to showing how the Bible and dinosaurs fit together. It’s the usual stuff, but all in one place with pictures so kids (and grownups) can absorb the ideas easily.

What I want to get to is a little detail I found fascinating for the time it was first written. Turns out, way back in 1987 we already knew there was some sort of fresh tissue in dinosaur bones.

Here’s the quote (from my 1988 edition, page 29):

When some dinosaur fossils are cut with a diamond saw, the distinct odor of burning bone can be smelled. Most of the fossil is still bone and still contains chemicals from when the animals were alive.

Oh, if only some creation scientist had had the vision and guts to predict we would find Carbon-14 in those bones! And why weren’t we hunting for soft tissue back then?

Earth From Space

Earth From Space (Photo credit: San Diego Air & Space Museum Archives)

True, the creation science research budget is microscopic compared to the evolutionary one, but wouldn’t it have been something if we’d been that far ahead of the game?

I wonder if there is something similarly earth shaking we just don’t see right now. If we could see from God’s perspective how many evidences He left to point to His power and judgment it would be awesome.

But, we’re only human. None of us get messages from God telling us where to hunt next. We’re stuck having to use our own brains, resources, and ideas. And God seems to be OK with that.

Maybe I’ll add this concept to my Scientist’s Prayer post, because I bet it could make a difference.

What if we all prayed for the guys on the front lines to be able to see what seems impossible, too bold, or even downright crazy?

I heard a great, I mean capital letter, GREAT RADIO INTERVIEW with a creation scientist who’s trying to do just that (worth every minute of the half hour it takes to listen). And he hit the jackpot for dinosaur soft tissue with his first dig.

So, we know God listens when we pray boldly like that!

Praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, and watching thereunto with all perseverance and supplication for all saints;
And for me, that utterance may be given unto me, that I may open my mouth boldly, to make known the mystery of the gospel, Ephesians 6:18-19

Where to buy the book:

Since I didn’t get my copy from Master Books (the publisher), I can send you anywhere! So, I’ll send you to the author’s new job place: Creation Today.  They only charge a single dollar more than Christian Book Distributors, too.

4 thoughts on “Scientists Prayer & a Dinosaur Book Review

  1. Pingback: A Scientist’s Prayer | Creation Science 4 Kids

I'd love to hear your thoughts